The Angela Thacker Memorial Award

Angela Thacker
Angela Thacker

The Angela Thacker Memorial Award was established in 2001 in memory of Angela Thacker; teacher-librarian, library coordinator, and school library colleague, mentor, leader and advocate who served the Association for Teacher-Librarianship in Canada (ATLC) and the Canada School Library Association (CSLA) in many capacities. This award honours teacher-librarians who have made contributions to the profession through publications, productions, research or professional development activities that deal with topics relevant to teacher-librarianship and/or school library learning commons.

Initially established by the Association for Teacher-Librarianship in Canada (ATLC), the award moved to the Canada School Library Association (CSLA) when ATLC merged with CSLA under the umbrella of the former Canadian Library Association (CLA). CSLA in turn became the Canadian Association for School Libraries (CASL) also under the CLA umbrella. Upon the dissolution of CLA in 2016, the award moved to Canadian School Libraries (CSL) organization, fully incorporated in February, 2017.

The CSL Angela Thacker Memorial Award will be presented bi-annually at the CSL Treasure Mountain Canada Research Symposium dinner with an engraved plaque and complementary registration to TMC.

Nominations Procedure

Complete the nomination form outlining the activities which illustrate the outstanding contributions of this nominee. Include:

  • Brief bio/resume of the nominee outlining their achievements and school library background
  • Two letters endorsing the nominee

Nominations Deadline, 2017 Award: Wednesday September 20, 2017
Nominations Form: Angela Thacker Memorial Award Nomination Form

Angela Thacker Award: Past Recipients

2017 – Anita Brooks Kirkland
– Not Awarded
2015 – Derrick Grose
2014 – Carol Koechlin
2013 – Jo-Anne Gibson
2012 – Not Awarded
2011 – Moira Ekdahl
2010 – CASL Publications Team: Richard Beaudry, Victoria Pennell, Derrick Grose, Judith Sykes, John Tooth, Linsey Hammond
2009 – British Columbia Teacher Librarians’ Association Executive: Heather Daly, Sylvia Zubke, Karen Lindsay, Bonnie McComb, Angie MacRitchie, Moira Ekdahl, Amanda Hufton, Bonnie Chapman, Al Smith, Val Hamilton, Halia Hirniak, Lauren Craze, and Lynn Turner
2008 – Donna DesRoches and Carlene Walter
2007 – Susan Perkins, Joanie Proske, Kim Anderson, Jade Graber and Laurie Lewis of Langley School District # 35, British Columbia
2006 – Maureen Erlendson, Judy Nicholson, Joanne Beltramini, Carolyn Yaskowich
2005 – Sherry Faller Paulette Leclerc Margo Ross Linda Johnson Yolanda Hogeveen Luella Stephens Barbara Poustie
2004 – Judith Sykes
2003 – Saskatchewan School Library Association
2002 – Anne Letain
2001 – Carol Thiessen and Staff of Dr John G Egnatoff School